(517) 263-2115

Alexander Elementary

520 Cherry St. Adrian MI 49221
(517) 263-9533 / Fax: (517) 265-3633

Exterior of Alexander Elementary School in Adrian, Michigan

Principal: Shanan Henline
Dean of Students: Lisa Fisher
Administrative Assistant: Kelli Schefka

Classes Begin: 8:35 AM - 3:38 PM
Doors Open for Breakfast: 8:10 AM
Half Day Early Release: 12:10 AM
Half Day Late Start: 12:03 AM

Facebook

Drew VanSickle

1st Grade

dvansickle@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Erin Risner

1st Grade

erisner@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Brandy Opsal

1st Grade

bopsal@adrian.k12.mi.us

Adam Wilson

5th Grade

awilson@adrian.k12.mi.us

Dawn Stewart

2nd Grade

dstewart@adrian.k12.mi.us

Sheila Kowalski

4th Grade

skowalski@adrian.k12.mi.us

Holly Sabbadini

2nd Grade

hsabbadini@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Jamie Rorick

3rd Grade

jrorick@adrian.k12.mi.us

Jill Walsh

3rd Grade

jswalsh@adrian.k12.mi.us

Teresa Bauer

Media Para

tbauer@adrian.k12.mi.us

Amy Teske

4th Grade, 3rd Grade

ateske@adrian.k12.mi.us

Aja Andre

2nd Grade

aandre@adrian.k12.mi.us

Erin Watson

5th Grade

ewatson@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Elizabeth Hughes

5th Grade

lhughes@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Sara Youtsey

Art

syoutsey@adrian.k12.mi.us

Tania Justavino

ESL

tjustavino@adrian.k12.mi.us

Todd Holden

Intervention

tholden@adrian.k12.mi.us

Jeffrey Condon

Intervention

jcondon@adrian.k12.mi.us

Christie Richards

Kindergarten

crichards1@adrian.k12.mi.us

Alexandra Petterle

Kindergarten

apetterle@adrian.k12.mi.us

Tracey Gonzalez

Kindergarten

tgonzalez@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Jacquese Miloser

Music

jmiloser@adrian.k12.mi.us

Chad Perry

Physical Education

cperry@adrian.k12.mi.us

Jordan Kelly

Physical Education

jkelly@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Amber Pedersen

Spanish

apedersen@adrian.k12.mi.us

Linda Malecha

Special Ed

lmalecha@adrian.k12.mi.us

Andrea Gallatin

Special Ed

agallatin@adrian.k12.mi.us

Tracey DeMeritt

Technology

tdemeritt@adrian.k12.mi.us

Kari Truax

Young 5's

ktruax@adrian.k12.mi.us

Shanan Henline

shenline@adrian.k12.mi.us

Adrienne Thompson

4th Grade

athompson@adrian.k12.mi.us

Aaron Mykeloff

Band, Music

amykeloff@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Adrian Public Schools brand and logo are a vital piece of our story. We maintain integrity in our brand by establishing guidelines and offering downloadable files. Our brand assets include our logo, typeface details, maple leaf symbol, and color specifications.

Overview

Academic excellence, extensive opportunity in art education, and attention to character education all combine to create a well balanced, caring, creative, and innovative learner.

We invite you and your child to become part of our community of caring and compassionate learners and be a Maple!

Arrival & Departure

Students enter the building at 8:25 AM (during full and early-release half-days).

School starts at 8:35 AM.

The tardy bell rings at 8:40 AM.

School dismisses at 3:38 PM.

Late start days begin at 12:03 PM. Half day dismissal is at 12:10 PM.

In the morning, second grade classes line up on the side where the buses pick up and drop off.

If your child is driven or walks to school, he should not arrive prior to 8:10 AM (even if they plan to have breakfast). There is no supervision outside before 8:10 AM. If a bus should arrive prior to that time due to various route times, the administration will see that the students are properly supervised.

If your child is a bus rider, we will assist in getting them on the correct bus at the end of the day, if needed. If your child walks to school, try to find someone for them to walk with so they never walk alone.

If students are picked up after school, always make sure that they know (before they come to school) who is picking them up and where they are going to meet them.

Parents are to wait outside the building for their child at the end of the day. Please make an effort to abide by these arrival and departure guidelines to help ensure the safety for the students.

Field Trip Form & Process

All content area and co-curricular field trips shall request voluntary contributions to defray the total cost of the field trip, including, but not limited to:

  • Registration Fee
  • Transportation Costs
  • Other Incidental Costs

All students shall have the opportunity to participate in all content area and co-curricular field trips regardless of contributions. Exceptions to the foregoing shall be:

  • Music competitions and festivals sanctioned by the Michigan High School Band and Orchestra Association (MHSBOA) will be paid from music funds.
  • Transitional activities such as trips to the Tech Center, high school, middle school, or other elementary schools.

The monies collected at each school from student contributions, its PTO and other donors, shall be placed in that school’s student activity account. The cost of the field trips shall be withdrawn from the account to pay for the trips. This pertains to secondary students, not elementary students.

Parent-Community Coordinator (PCC): Amy Baker
E-mail: abaker@adrian.k12.mi.us
Phone: (517) 263-9533 ext: 3138

Programs and services available at Alexander include Big Brothers/Big Sisters, Foster Grandparents, Lunch Buddies, Girl Scouts, before and after school child care, after school kids club, and AHS tutors. Some of the PTO programs include Family Nights, Donuts with Dads, Talent Show, Spring Dance, Muffins with Moms, Spelling Bee, Arts/Crafts/Science Fair, and Field Day.

Students stand outside of exterior of Alexander Elementary School in Adrian, Michigan.

PTO

Alexander parents take an active part in the support and direction of the school. Alexander PTO and the parent volunteers are a vibrant part of the school environment. PTO sponsors many annual events that are widely supported and support the teaching staff through additional funding, classroom volunteers, and by creating a positive learning environment.

OFFICERS

President: Mrs. Julie Beutler
Vice President: Mrs. Karen Springer
Treasurer: Mrs. Anna Gautz
Recording Secretary: Brooke Switney

If you would like to volunteer, donate or just need more information, please contact Amy Baker at (517) 263-9533.

A few of our PTO programs include Family Nights, Donuts with Dads, Talent Show, Spring Dance, Muffins with Moms, Spelling Bee, Arts/Crafts/Science Fair, and Field Day.

Lunch Buddies

Lunch Buddies is a mentoring program where community members join an at-risk student for lunch at school one time per week. Lunch Buddies eat lunch, talk, play games, hang out, work on homework, or take walks around the playground.

This one hour per week could make all the difference in the world to a student. We provide training and pair you up with a student who needs a mentor.

Become a Lunch Buddy today

Latchkey & Child Care Programs

A Latchkey Program is offered at Alexander Elementary School by Pathway Preschool & Child Care.

Lincoln, Michener, and Prairie students wishing to participate are provided transportation to and from Alexander.

Doors open at 6 AM and close at 6 PM.

YMCA Mini Maples Preschool

State licensed preschool for ages 3-5 years

Learn More about YMCA Mini Maples

Sign up for Mini Maples Preschool today at the YMCA of Lenawee County

Location:

Lincoln Elementary located at 158 South Scott Street, Adrian MI 49221

Hours of Operation:

Monday - Friday 6:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Open year round and closed on major holidays.

Mini Maples Tuition:

Family Membership: $105
Other Memberships & Non-Members: $140
Full-time is 4 or 5 days a week
10% discount off weekly tuition for each additional child for full-time enrollees.

Registration:

To register, stop by the YMCA or contact us by phone or email to receive an enrollment packet.

For more information, contact Amanda Mellis, Child Care Director, at (517) 417-6106.

Positive Behavior Interventions & Supports (PBIS)

We have launched a new district-wide behavior and discipline program at Adrian Public Schools called Positive Behavior Interventions and Supports or PBIS.

PRIDE is representative of five qualities we want our students to demonstrate on a daily basis. These qualities will be taught, reinforced, and recognized. They are:

  • Productivity
  • Respect
  • Integrity
  • Determination
  • Excellence

Learn More about PBIS