(517) 263-2115

Lincoln Elementary

158 S. Scott St., Adrian MI 49221
(517) 265-8544 / Fax: (517) 265-8923

Exterior of Alexander Elementary School in Adrian, Michigan

Principal: Sam Skeels
Administrative Assistant: Tracy Richard

Classes Begin: 8:35 AM - 3:38 PM
Doors Open for Breakfast: 8:10 AM
Half Day Early Release: 12:10 AM
Half Day Late Start: 12:03 AM

Facebook

Rachael Krzeczkowski

1st Grade

rsmart@adrian.k12.mi.us

Jana Brown

1st Grade

jbrown@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Meghan Thompson

2nd Grade

mthompson@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Robin Perez

2nd Grade

rperez@adrina.k12.mi.us

Jill Roberts

3rd Grade

jlroberts@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Chelsea Coatsworth

3rd Grade

ccoatsworth@adrian.k12.mi.us

Kelly Armstrong

4th Grade

karmstrong@adrian.k12.mi.us

Brandy Felver

5th Grade

bfelver@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Danielle Benschoter

5th Grade

dbenschoter@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Jennifer Eichorn

Art

jeichorn@adrian.k12.mi.us

Maria Arellano

ESL

marellano@adrian.k12.mi.us

Laurie Chenevey

Intervention

lchenevey@adrian.k12.mi.us

Maricela Alvarez

Intervention

malvarez@adrian.k12.mi.us

Natasha Wetzel

Kindergarten

nwetzel@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Dawn Huggins-Ruetz

Kindergarten

dhuggins@adrian.k12.mi.us

Michelle Force

Music

mforce@adrian.k12.mi.us

Marc Comstock

Physical Education

mcomstock@adrian.k12.mi.us

Valerie Poupard

Spanish

vpoupard@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Amber Pedersen

Spanish

apedersen@adrian.k12.mi.us

Amanda Carlisle

Special Ed

acarlisle@adrian.k12.mi.us

Tracey DeMeritt

Technology

tdemeritt@adrian.k12.mi.us

Kristen Horky

Young 5's

khorky@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Laura Finch

4th Grade

lfinch@adrian.k12.mi.us

Ann VanStaveren

Media Para

avanstaveren@adrian.k12.mi.us

Lincoln Elementary School is a neighborhood elementary school with approximately 350 students serving grades Y5-5. There are two classrooms for each grade level.

Lincoln Elementary serves a racially diverse population.

Elementary school students showcase their art projects.

Overview

Lincoln Elementary is fully authorized as an International Baccalaureate (IB) Primary Years Programme (PYP) World School. Lincoln is the only school in Lenawee County with this distinction and authorization.

The Staff includes 23 teachers. Staff experience ranges from novice teachers to teachers with 30+ years of experience.

Arrival & Departure

Students enter the building at 8:25 AM (during full and early-release half-days).

School starts at 8:35 AM.

The tardy bell rings at 8:40 AM.

School dismisses at 3:38 PM.

Late start days begin at 12:03 PM. Half day dismissal is at 12:10 PM.

In the morning, second grade classes line up on the side where the buses pick up and drop off.

If your child is driven or walks to school, he should not arrive prior to 8:10 AM (even if they plan to have breakfast). There is no supervision outside before 8:10 AM. If a bus should arrive prior to that time due to various route times, the administration will see that the students are properly supervised.

If your child is a bus rider, we will assist in getting them on the correct bus at the end of the day, if needed. If your child walks to school, try to find someone for them to walk with so they never walk alone.

If students are picked up after school, always make sure that they know (before they come to school) who is picking them up and where they are going to meet them.

Parents are to wait outside the building for their child at the end of the day. Please make an effort to abide by these arrival and departure guidelines to help ensure the safety for the students.

Parent-Community Coordinator (PCC): Amy Baker
E-mail: abaker@adrian.k12.mi.us
Phone: (517) 265-8544

Students from Lincoln Elementary participate in science fair.

PTO

Elly Sager, President
Martin Staile, Vice President
Erica Gilbert, Treasurer
Noelia Burciaga, Secretary

If you would like to volunteer, donate or just need more information, please contact Amy Baker, Parent Community Coordinator, at (517) 265-8544.

<tbd>

 

Assessment Policy

The primary purpose of assessment and evaluation at Lincoln Elementary School is to improve student learning. Assessment informs teachers of what their students know, if the students understand what has been taught, and what topics need to be re-taught to students. Teachers also use assessment data to determine how to best meet students’ needs. Assessment also informs students’ self-efficacy. Students can use his/her assessment data to discover where his/her strengths and weaknesses are and to set goals for future learning. Finally, assessment can be used to communicate with parents.

Language Assessment & Policy

English is the language of instruction and Spanish is Language B for Lincoln Elementary students. English Language Learners (ELL) and students with disabilities that have Individualized Educational Plans receive additional support to develop their mother tongue with highly qualified certified teachers. This differentiation allows for these students to be valued participants in the classroom by meeting their needs. The ELL teachers identify the ELL students with a home language survey, which is completed every year by parents and guardians. Once these students are identified, comprehensive testing is done to evaluate the needs of the students.

Lunch Buddies

Lunch Buddies is a mentoring program where community members join an at-risk student for lunch at school one time per week. Lunch Buddies eat lunch, talk, play games, hang out, work on homework, or take walks around the playground.

This one hour per week could make all the difference in the world to a student. We provide training and pair you up with a student who needs a mentor.

Become a Lunch Buddy today

Latchkey & Child Care Programs

A Latchkey Program is offered at Alexander Elementary School by Pathway Preschool & Child Care.

Lincoln, Michener, and Prairie students wishing to participate are provided transportation to and from Alexander.

Doors open at 6 AM and close at 6 PM.

YMCA Mini Maples Preschool

State licensed preschool for ages 3-5 years

Learn More about YMCA Mini Maples

Sign up for Mini Maples Preschool today at the YMCA of Lenawee County

Location:

Lincoln Elementary located at 158 South Scott Street, Adrian MI 49221

Hours of Operation:

Monday - Friday 6:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Open year round and closed on major holidays.

Mini Maples Tuition:

Family Membership: $105
Other Memberships & Non-Members: $140
Full-time is 4 or 5 days a week
10% discount off weekly tuition for each additional child for full-time enrollees.

Registration:

To register, stop by the YMCA or contact us by phone or email to receive an enrollment packet.

For more information, contact Amanda Mellis, Child Care Director, at (517) 417-6106.

Positive Behavior Interventions & Supports (PBIS)

We have launched a new district-wide behavior and discipline program at Adrian Public Schools called Positive Behavior Interventions and Supports or PBIS.

PRIDE is representative of five qualities we want our students to demonstrate on a daily basis. These qualities will be taught, reinforced, and recognized. They are:

  • Productivity
  • Respect
  • Integrity
  • Determination
  • Excellence

Learn More about PBIS