(517) 263-2115

Michener Elementary

104 Dawes St., Adrian MI 49221
(517) 263-9002 / Fax: (517) 265-9296

Exterior of Michener Elementary School in Adrian, Michigan.

Principal: Ann Lacasse
Administrative Assistant: Julie Rodocker

Classes Begin: 8:35 AM - 3:38 PM
Doors Open for Breakfast: 8:10 AM
Half Day Early Release: 12:10 AM
Half Day Late Start: 12:03 AM

Facebook

Alyson Pifer

1st Grade

apifer@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Elissa Mihm

1st Grade

emihm@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Lisa Overton

2nd Grade

loverton@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Rachael Kelly

2nd Grade

rachperez@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Dana Vancoppenolle

3rd Grade

dvancoppenolle@adrian.k12.mi.us

Heidi Yatzek

3rd Grade

hyatzek@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Melissa Moser

4th Grade

mmoser@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Lora Wallich

4th Grade, 5th Grade

lwallich@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Meriah Roesch

5th Grade

mroesch@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Cynthia Howard

Media Para

choward@adrian.k12.mi.us

Jennifer Eichorn

Art

jeichorn@adrian.k12.mi.us

Jennifer Marlatt

4th Grade

jmarlatt@adrian.k12.mi.us

Maria Arellano

ESL

marellano@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Kathleen Sielsky

Intervention

ksielsky@adrian.k12.mi.us

Mary Kemerer

Intervention, Technology

mkemerer@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Alison Sanderson

Kindergarten

acottrell@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Sharon Ketola

Kindergarten

sketola@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Michelle Force

Music

mforce@adrian.k12.mi.us

Chad Perry

Physical Education

cperry@adrian.k12.mi.us

Tiffany Olsaver

Special Ed

tolsaver@adrian.k12.mi.us

Linda Malecha

Special Ed

lmalecha@adrian.k12.mi.us

Kimberly Edgerly

Special Ed

kedgerly@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Tracey DeMeritt

Technology

tdemeritt@adrian.k12.mi.us

Barbara Schmidt

Young 5's

bschmidt@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Cathy Land

CIS Coordinator

cland@adrian.k12.mi.us

Michener Elementary is a neighborhood school with an enrollment of 275-300 students. We serve children from Young 5s through 5th grade. With a Head Start program located onsite, our littlest learners can prepare for school.

Our students have the opportunity to attend Music, Art, Gym, Spanish and Technology classes each week. Our highly qualified teachers and staff take pride in providing a safe, caring environment where our students can learn and grow.

Group of school children pose as a group from Michener elementary school.

Overview

Michener Staff and students have embraced Maple Pride, our district-wide positive behavior support plan. Positive behavior expectations are taught and modeled throughout the day. Students who engage in positive behavior are celebrated!

Due to the support of APS voters who passed a bond in 2016, Michener has received many improvements. Classroom and building technology has been upgraded to support our students' learning. Two rooms have been remodeled to serve as our 5th grade classrooms and a collaborative work space. Around the building and grounds there are upgrades and repairs to windows, doors, fencing and storage. The newly paved parking lot will provide a safe place for parents to drop-off and pick-up children who do not ride the bus.

Arrival & Departure

Students enter the building at 8:25 AM (during full and early-release half-days).

School starts at 8:35 AM.

The tardy bell rings at 8:40 AM.

School dismisses at 3:38 PM.

Late start days begin at 12:03 PM. Half day dismissal is at 12:10 PM.

In the morning, second grade classes line up on the side where the buses pick up and drop off.

If your child is driven or walks to school, he should not arrive prior to 8:10 AM (even if they plan to have breakfast). There is no supervision outside before 8:10 AM. If a bus should arrive prior to that time due to various route times, the administration will see that the students are properly supervised.

If your child is a bus rider, we will assist in getting them on the correct bus at the end of the day, if needed. If your child walks to school, try to find someone for them to walk with so they never walk alone.

If students are picked up after school, always make sure that they know (before they come to school) who is picking them up and where they are going to meet them.

Parents are to wait outside the building for their child at the end of the day. Please make an effort to abide by these arrival and departure guidelines to help ensure the safety for the students.

Parent-Community Coordinator (PCC): Cathy Land
E-mail: cland@adrian.k12.mi.us
Phone: (517) 263-9002

Group of Michener elementary students say pledge of alligence.

PTO

OFFICERS

President: Sharon Ketola
Vice President: Megan Sanderson
Treasurer: Mary Kemerer
Recording Secretary: Heidi Yatzek

If you would like to volunteer, donate or just need more information, please contact Cathy Land at (517) 263-9002 or cland@adrian.k12.mi.us.

Lunch Buddies

Lunch Buddies is a mentoring program where community members join an at-risk student for lunch at school one time per week. Lunch Buddies eat lunch, talk, play games, hang out, work on homework, or take walks around the playground.

This one hour per week could make all the difference in the world to a student. We provide training and pair you up with a student who needs a mentor.

Become a Lunch Buddy today

Latchkey & Child Care Programs

A Latchkey Program is offered at Alexander Elementary School by Pathway Preschool & Child Care.

Lincoln, Michener, and Prairie students wishing to participate are provided transportation to and from Alexander.

Doors open at 6 AM and close at 6 PM.

YMCA Mini Maples Preschool

State licensed preschool for ages 3-5 years

Learn More about YMCA Mini Maples

Sign up for Mini Maples Preschool today at the YMCA of Lenawee County

Location:

Lincoln Elementary located at 158 South Scott Street, Adrian MI 49221

Hours of Operation:

Monday - Friday 6:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Open year round and closed on major holidays.

Mini Maples Tuition:

Family Membership: $105
Other Memberships & Non-Members: $140
Full-time is 4 or 5 days a week
10% discount off weekly tuition for each additional child for full-time enrollees.

Registration:

To register, stop by the YMCA or contact us by phone or email to receive an enrollment packet.

For more information, contact Amanda Mellis, Child Care Director, at (517) 417-6106.

Positive Behavior Interventions & Supports (PBIS)

We have launched a new district-wide behavior and discipline program at Adrian Public Schools called Positive Behavior Interventions and Supports or PBIS.

PRIDE is representative of five qualities we want our students to demonstrate on a daily basis. These qualities will be taught, reinforced, and recognized. They are:

  • Productivity
  • Respect
  • Integrity
  • Determination
  • Excellence

Learn More about PBIS

Partnerships

Michener Elementary enjoys partnerships with several groups to provide a rounded education for our students.

ROTARY CLUB

In partnership with the Adrian Noon and Morning Rotary Clubs, adults participate in our Fluency Friends program. Children are partnered with an adult buddy to practice and improve their reading skills, while making positive connections with adults.

HACHI

Hachi, a therapy dog, comes to our building twice a week to listen to first and second grade students read. The children love to cuddle with Hachi and read him their favorite books.

SIENA HEIGHTS UNIVERSITY

We also partner with the Siena Heights Anthropology classes to bring college students into our building.

The students in the anthropology department spend at least one day a week here at Michener in the classrooms assisting the teachers and observing the functionality of each class. In turn, the Michener fourth grade students get to go to Siena Heights University and spend a day observing the college students. The Michener students are partnered with a University student, and spend the day exploring the campus, eating at Chartwells, and learning about the opportunities that college can offer.

MICHIGAN STATE UNIVERSITY

Additionally, our 3rd, 4th, and 5th graders will have the opportunity to perform a Disney Musical thanks to a generous grant from the MSU Wharton Center for Performing Arts. This multi-year grant provides artist-in-residence training, technical support, and royalty-free access to unlimited Disney school-based plays. After performing locally on the George and Julianne Argyros Performing Arts Center stage, the students will perform at the Wharton Center. This should prove to be an excellent opportunity for our children!