(517) 263-2115

Springbrook Middle School

615 Springbrook Ave., Adrian MI 49221
(517) 263-0543 / Fax: (517) 265-5984

Exterior of Springbrook Middle School in Adrian, Michigan.

Principal: Nate Parker
Assistant Principal: Adam Benschoter
Dean of Students: Lisa Fisher
Administrative Assistant: Cindy Graham, Kathleen Duvall

School Hours: 7:35 AM - 2:24 PM
Doors Open for Breakfast: 7:05 AM
Half Day Early Release: 11:00 AM
Half Day Late Start: 10:59 AM

Facebook

Communications

No Communications at this time.

Please check back again for information from your child's teacher.

Amber Lilly

Math

alilly@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Jordan Kelly

Physical Education

jkelly@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Shown Koelbel

English

skoelbel@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Christina Robbins

Art

crobbins@adrian.k12.mi.us

Michael Brink

Art

mbrink@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Sheri Powers

Band

spowers@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Barbara Schenck

Choir

bschenck@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Amy Johnson

CIS Coordinator

aejohnson@adrian.k12.mi.us

Lisa Fisher

Dean of Students

lfisher@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Andrea Perez

ESL

amorinperez@adrian.k12.mi.us

Aaron Bernard

Graduation Coach

abernard@adrian.k12.mi.us

John Bakewell

ISS, Media Para

jbakewell@adrian.k12.mi.us

Mandi Esparza

Language Arts

mesparza@adrian.k12.mi.us

Camila Dipietro

Language Arts

cdipietro@adrian.k12.mi.us

Veronica Putman

Language Arts, Science

vputman@adrian.k12.mi.us

Sarah Schuler

Math

sschuler@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Tracy Pickle

Math

tpickle@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Eric Emmendorfer

Math

eemmendorfer@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Lorri Wittenkeller

Orchestra

lwittenkeller@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Jay Roback

Physical Education

jroback@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Kathleen Duvall

kduvall@adrian.k12.mi.us

Adam Benschoter

Assistant Principal

abenschoter@adrian.k12.mi.us

Joe Miles

PLTW

jmiles@adrian.k12.mi.us

Jodi Ford

AMPS, Ready 180, English

jford@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Jean Kesterke

Science

jkesterke@adrian.k12.mi.us

Amy Bahlau

Science

abahlau@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Sheri Johnston

Science, PLTW

sjohnston@adrian.k12.mi.us

Philip Andre

PLTW, Science

pandre@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Joel Przygodski

Social Studies

jprzygodski@adrian.k12.mi.us

Deborah Holmes

Social Studies

dholmes@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Angela Frank

Social Studies

afrank@adrian.k12.mi.us

Joseph Francis

Social Studies

jfrancis@adrian.k12.mi.us

Nick Conklin

Social Studies

nconklin@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Valerie Poupard

Spanish

vpoupard@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Amber Pedersen

Spanish

apedersen@adrian.k12.mi.us

Ted Hanosh

Spanish

thanosh@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Kayla Wilson

Special Ed

kbosse@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Kristy Thompson

Special Ed

kthompson1@adrian.k12.mi.us

Ian Mohler

Special Ed

imohler@adrian.k12.mi.us

Kristen Memering

Math

kmemering@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Scott McKelvey

Special Ed

smckelvey@adrian.k12.mi.us

Phyllis Detwiler

Special Ed

pdetwiler@adrian.k12.mi.us

Steven Carroll

Special Ed

scarroll@adrian.k12.mi.us

Kate Steele

Technology

ksteele@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Springbrook Middle School features two state of the art STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) labs where students are challenged with rigorous, engaging, and hands-on science curriculum.

Please see below for further information regarding Springbook Middle School and don’t hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance in any way at (517) 263–0543, or by e-mail at nparker@adrian.k12.mi.us.

Students from Springbrook Middle School participate in STEM labs.

Overview

SCIENCE, TECHNOLOGY, ENGINEERING, & MATH (STEM)

Students at Springbrook Middle School are engaged in a challenging curricular program intended to prepare students for the next step at Adrian High School and to foster long term skills and attributes that will make them successful in their future.

We offer three different Project Lead the Way (PLTW) programs, two of which, every student in the building will take.

This hands-on, inquiry based program is designed around STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) principles that allow students to apply their learning in real world situations and applications. Qualifying students may also enroll in an Advanced 8th Grade Science Program.

FOREIGN LANGUAGE & ACCELERATED OPPORTUNITIES

All students take two years of Spanish, gaining one high school credit. Acceleration and high school credit is also available for qualifying students in math and Introduction to Computer Sciences.

ARTS & EXTRACURRICULAR OPPORTUNITIES

In addition to strong programs in the core academic areas, a wide array of opportunities are offered to students in the arts. Students may choose from offerings in the visual arts, choir, band or orchestra. Springbrook Middle School also offers excellent opportunities for students to participate in drama and stage performances.

Springbrook Middle School offers a wide range of co-curricular and extracurricular activities including the Equations Team, National Junior Honors Society, and a wide range of interscholastic athletic opportunities.

STUDENT SUPPORT SERVICES

Springbrook Middle School offers many options for additional student support and learning. Through collaboration with Communities in Schools we are able to offer tutoring services and provide an after school writing experience in collaboration with Adrian College.

Every day at Springbrook Middle School is an opportunity for students to grow and challenge themselves. We are dedicated to providing opportunities through which students can gain authentic self-esteem in a safe, yet challenging and rigorous learning environment. Through this environment, we hope to provide opportunities for students to realize their fullest potential.

These challenges, coupled with a student-centered approach to instruction, allow students to develop the academic skills and character traits necessary to become successful students at the high school level, as well as balanced, principled citizens who pursue their goals and dreams.

Arrival & Departure

Students enter the building at 7:10 AM (during full and early-release half-days).

School starts at 7:35 AM.

The tardy bell rings at 7:35 AM.

School dismisses at 2:24 PM.

Late start days begin at 10:59 AM. Half day dismissal is at 2:24 PM.

In the morning, second grade classes line up on the side where the buses pick up and drop off.

If your child is driven or walks to school, he should not arrive prior to 7:10 AM (even if they plan to have breakfast).  If a bus should arrive prior to that time due to various route times, the administration will see that the students are properly supervised.

Every day at Springbrook Middle School is an opportunity for students to grow and challenge themselves. We are dedicated to providing opportunities through which students can gain authentic self-confidence in a safe, yet challenging and rigorous learning environment.

We appreciate the help of our community in providing outstanding learning opportunities for all students which empower them to realize their fullest potential. These opportunities, coupled with a student-centered approach to instruction, allow students to develop the academic skills and character traits necessary to become successful students at the high school level, as well as balanced, principled citizens as they pursue their goals and dreams.

Students from Springbrook elementary create the word PRIDE while standing on the football field.

PTO in Progress

We are forming a PTO at Springbrook!

Currently, Springbrook Middle School is in the process of forming a PTO for parents and teachers to communicate. The PTO will offer multiple programs for families who want to be more involved with school activities.

If you are interested in joining the PTO, please contact Principal Nate Parker at (517) 263–0543, or by e-mail at nparker@adrian.k12.mi.us.

 

Lunch Buddies

Lunch Buddies is a mentoring program where community members join an at-risk student for lunch at school one time per week. Lunch Buddies eat lunch, talk, play games, hang out, work on homework, or take walks around the playground.

This one hour per week could make all the difference in the world to a student. We provide training and pair you up with a student who needs a mentor.

Become a Lunch Buddy today

Positive Behavior Interventions & Supports (PBIS)

We have launched a new district-wide behavior and discipline program at Adrian Public Schools called Positive Behavior Interventions and Supports or PBIS.

PRIDE is representative of five qualities we want our students to demonstrate on a daily basis. These qualities will be taught, reinforced, and recognized. They are:

  • Productivity
  • Respect
  • Integrity
  • Determination
  • Excellence

Learn More about PBIS

National Junior Honor Society (NJHS)

National Junior Honor Society students are great representatives of our school, as they reflect the NJHS standards: Scholarship, Leadership, Service, Citizenship, and Character, for the other students and the community.

  • Members should complete their community service hours as the year progresses.
  • Submit your service hours documentation slips to Mrs. Holmes.
  • Each NJHS student must attend at least ten meetings during the year, arriving by 7:10 AM in order for the meeting to count toward their goal.
  • Meetings are every two weeks, except during holidays.
  • All community service hours are due Monday, April 9, by 3:00 PM.
  • All recommendations and forms for NJHS Potential Initiates are due Friday, April 27 by 2:30 PM.