(517) 263-2115

Prairie Elementary

Students from Prairie elementary sit in the bleachers.

Principal: Carl Lewandowski
Administrative Assistant: Patti Hayes

Classes Begin: 8:35 AM - 3:38 PM
Doors Open for Breakfast: 8:10 AM
Half Day Early Release: 12:10 AM
Half Day Late Start: 12:03 AM

Facebook

Brandon VanEtten

1st Grade

bvanetten@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Julia Torey

1st Grade

jtorey@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Sheila Kowalski

2nd Grade

skowalski@adrian.k12.mi.us

Brandon Hall

2nd Grade, 3rd Grade

bhall@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Callie Yatzek

3rd Grade

cyatzek@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Cynthia Ohrman

4th Grade

cohrman@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Janice Webber

4th Grade, 5th Grade

jwebber@adrian.k12.mi.us

Nicole Clark

5th Grade

nclark@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Sara Youtsey

Art

syoutsey@adrian.k12.mi.us

Tania Justavino

ESL

tjustavino@adrian.k12.mi.us

Cindy Marcum

Intervention

cmarcum@adrian.k12.mi.us

Laurie Chenevey

Intervention

lchenevey@adrian.k12.mi.us

Stacy Arnold

Intervention

sarnold@adrian.k12.mi.us

Sarah Holtz

Kindergarten

sholtz@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Tammi Pifer

Media Para

tpifer@adrian.k12.mi.us

Marc Comstock

Physical Education

mcomstock@adrian.k12.mi.us

Amber Pedersen

Spanish

apedersen@adrian.k12.mi.us

Sue Smith

Special Ed

sesmith@adrian.k12.mi.us

Meghan Blystone

2nd Grade

mblystone@adrian.k12.mi.us

Tracey DeMeritt

Technology

tdemeritt@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Susan Vellanti

Young 5's

svellanti@adrian.k12.mi.us

Website

Amy Whitesall

Special Ed

awhitesall@adrian.k12.mi.us

Prairie Elementary houses on average 255-265 students from Young Fives to Grade Five.

Prairie Elementary is part of Adrian Public Schools and is located in the southwest corner of the city in Madison Township.

Prairie houses the district and regional MiCi classrooms for K-5, in addition to a Resource Classroom. Prairie also is home to a Head Start classroom.

Students from Prairie elementary standing outside.

Overview

Michener Staff and students have embraced Maple Pride, our district-wide positive behavior support plan. Positive behavior expectations are taught and modeled throughout the day. Students who engage in positive behavior are celebrated!

Due to the support of APS voters who passed a bond in 2016, Michener has received many improvements. Classroom and building technology has been upgraded to support our students' learning. Two rooms have been remodeled to serve as our 5th grade classrooms and a collaborative work space. Around the building and grounds there are upgrades and repairs to windows, doors, fencing and storage. The newly paved parking lot will provide a safe place for parents to drop-off and pick-up children who do not ride the bus.

Arrival & Departure

Students enter the building at 8:25 AM (during full and early-release half-days).

School starts at 8:35 AM.

The tardy bell rings at 8:40 AM.

School dismisses at 3:38 PM.

Late start days begin at 12:03 PM. Half day dismissal is at 12:10 PM.

In the morning, second grade classes line up on the side where the buses pick up and drop off.

If your child is driven or walks to school, he should not arrive prior to 8:10 AM (even if they plan to have breakfast). There is no supervision outside before 8:10 AM. If a bus should arrive prior to that time due to various route times, the administration will see that the students are properly supervised.

If your child is a bus rider, we will assist in getting them on the correct bus at the end of the day, if needed. If your child walks to school, try to find someone for them to walk with so they never walk alone.

If students are picked up after school, always make sure that they know (before they come to school) who is picking them up and where they are going to meet them.

Parents are to wait outside the building for their child at the end of the day. Please make an effort to abide by these arrival and departure guidelines to help ensure the safety for the students.

Parent-Community Coordinator (PCC): Tammi Pifer
E-mail: tpifer@adrian.k12.mi.us
Phone: (517) 265-5082 ext. 3413

Group of Prairie elementary students stand and smiling.

PTO

OFFICERS

President: Krista Rodgers
Vice President: Crystal Tucker
Treasurer: Jennifer Girdham
Recording Secretary: Stacy Arnold

Partnership with Faith Baptist Church

Through this Partnership, Faith Baptist Church has supported and enriched the Prairie community by volunteering their time and resources in the following ways:

  • Provide students with hats, gloves, boots, and coats
  • Donate much-needed school supplies to Prairie staff and students
  • Became positive role-models to students by volunteering for the Lunch Buddies Program
  • Organized the Back to School Bash
  • Volunteered and donated supplies for the Jingle & Mingle Art Night
  • Provide 3 PBIS school-wide parties with a bounce house, cotton candy, snow cones, and volunteers
  • Volunteer for our Festival of Lights & Daddy-Daughter Dance
  • Make & Bag popcorn for Popcorn Fridays
  • Provide their support and help at Fun Night

Lunch Buddies

Lunch Buddies is a mentoring program where community members join an at-risk student for lunch at school one time per week. Lunch Buddies eat lunch, talk, play games, hang out, work on homework, or take walks around the playground.

This one hour per week could make all the difference in the world to a student. We provide training and pair you up with a student who needs a mentor.

Become a Lunch Buddy today

Latchkey & Child Care Programs

A Latchkey Program is offered at Alexander Elementary School by Pathway Preschool & Child Care.

Lincoln, Michener, and Prairie students wishing to participate are provided transportation to and from Alexander.

Doors open at 6 AM and close at 6 PM.

YMCA Mini Maples Preschool

State licensed preschool for ages 3-5 years

Learn More about YMCA Mini Maples

Sign up for Mini Maples Preschool today at the YMCA of Lenawee County

Location:

Lincoln Elementary located at 158 South Scott Street, Adrian MI 49221

Hours of Operation:

Monday - Friday 6:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Open year round and closed on major holidays.

Mini Maples Tuition:

Family Membership: $105
Other Memberships & Non-Members: $140
Full-time is 4 or 5 days a week
10% discount off weekly tuition for each additional child for full-time enrollees.

Registration:

To register, stop by the YMCA or contact us by phone or email to receive an enrollment packet.

For more information, contact Amanda Mellis, Child Care Director, at (517) 417-6106.

Positive Behavior Interventions & Supports (PBIS)

We have launched a new district-wide behavior and discipline program at Adrian Public Schools called Positive Behavior Interventions and Supports or PBIS.

PRIDE is representative of five qualities we want our students to demonstrate on a daily basis. These qualities will be taught, reinforced, and recognized. They are:

  • Productivity
  • Respect
  • Integrity
  • Determination
  • Excellence

Learn More about PBIS